0

Is this Out or Not Out in cricket?

The batsman hits the ball with his bat, and the ball then hits the fielding helmet not being worn directly, it is then caught by the fielder without the ball ever hitting the ground.

Is this considered Out or Not Out?

3
  • 4
    Are we talking about the helmet on the field normally behind the wicket-keeper? The lack of punctuation makes the question a little unclear unfortunately :(
    – ImClarky
    Oct 25 '21 at 15:22
  • Thanks. The Helmet could be behind the wicket-keeper or it could be anywhere kept on the field. Oct 25 '21 at 15:25
  • 3
    I have updated the question a little to hopefully make the question clearer. Feel free to edit it again if you think I have changed the subject of the question. Additionally, according to the Laws, a fielding helmet not in use can only be placed behind the wicket-keeper, and inline with both sets of stumps.
    – ImClarky
    Oct 25 '21 at 16:08
2

This is a tricky one, as there appears that there could be a conflict in the laws of the game depending on how they are enforced.

I personally believe this will be Not Out, as the ball striking the placed helmet will result in a Dead Ball - as per Law 20.1.1.7 which states:

20.1.1 The ball becomes dead when

[...]

20.1.1.7 there is contravention of Law 28.3 (Protective helmets belonging to the fielding side).

Law 28.3 referring to the use of fielding helmets

28.3 Protective helmets belonging to the fielding side

28.3.1 Protective helmets, when not in use by fielders, may not be placed on the ground, above the surface except behind the wicket-keeper and in line with both sets of stumps.

28.3.2 If the ball while in play strikes a helmet, placed as described in 28.3.1

28.3.2.1 the ball shall become dead

However, under Law 33.1 - Caught, it states that a catch taken after hitting an obstruction that is not the boundary (as considered by the umpires) is considered a fair catch:

33.2.2 Furthermore, a catch will be fair if any of the following conditions applies:

[...]

33.2.2.5 the ball is caught off an obstruction within the boundary that is not designated a boundary by the umpires.

in which case you could make the case that the decision should be Out.

I guess the argument here is whether the ball is considered Dead immediately after striking the helmet, in which the batter will be Not Out, or if play is allowed to continue and a fair catch is made, then it would be Out. However there does not appear to be a law that states this explicitly.

1
  • 2
    I think Law 20 makes the reasonable assumption that the effect of Dead ball is immediate and instantaneous. Otherwise one could argue for all manner of silly things based on the argument that play continues even though it has stopped, which would simply not "be cricket". It would bring into question the entire point of Dead ball.
    – Nij
    Oct 25 '21 at 19:54
-1

So it's out out. As per law 28.3.2.1 the ball becomes dead instantly.

No wickets can be taken after the ball is dead.

1
  • 2
    Please add a reference to your answr.
    – alamoot
    Oct 25 '21 at 23:30

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.