What happens if the batsman hits the gloves of the keeper just prior to playing a shot which resulted in the shot being impeded? Should it be a dead ball or should any result - either a dismissal, do ball or runs stand?

Note - the intentions of the wicket keeper (it was not deliberate) or the gloves being in front of the wicket (they were not) are not of concern.

1 Answer 1


I have taken a long hard look at the laws and can see nothing here about this specifically.

However if the gloves aren't in-front of the stumps and the wicket keeper didn't deliberately obstruct the batsman I would play on.

If there isn't a decision to be made then status quo persists and play on and the ball stands as played.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge that you have read and understand our privacy policy and code of conduct.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.