1

In tennis and table tennis, it is legal to hit the ball around the net and net posts, i.e. the ball need not pass over the net as long as it gets to the legal court area on the opponent's side (without passing under or through the net).

Is this also the case in badminton? Or does it constitute a fault for the shuttle to be struck below the net's height even if it makes it to the other side without having to pass through/below the physical net? (In other words, for badminton ruling purposes is it imagined that the net is a flat vertical plane that extends infinitely past the sides of the court?)

2

Per the BWF Laws of Badminton, it is not legal.

It shall be a ‘fault’:

13.3 if in play, the shuttle:

13.3.2 fails to pass over the net;

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.