0

I looked through the indoor volleyball rulebook, and can't find anything on this in there, through Google, nor in any previously asked questions here.

I was told many times before that you cannot purposely set a ball over the net unless your back or front are parallel to the net, as in you can only set it forward or backwards, not to the side. However, I was watching some indoor volleyball highlights and a girl did a purposeful low side set over the net for a point.

What is the official rule? I'm referring to indoor volleyball (recreational/intermediate leagues, not like college or anything) and I would like to know the official ruling.

Edit: to be clear, in case it matters, I'm referring specifically to the 2nd hit.

1 Answer 1

0

Yes, you are allowed to set the ball over the net anyway you want.

I was told many times before that you cannot purposely set a ball over the net unless your back or front are parallel to the net

I think the ones that told you so, were referring to Beach-volleyball. It matches the FIVB-Beach rule 13.2.5

N.B. : As a back row setter, you cannot block, attack, set or hit the ball at all above the net.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.