Suppose that a fielder is running to catch the ball or field the ball and is running towards the boundary.

Eventually or willfully the fielder crosses the boundary rope before he is going to touch the ball in any case.

Then he jumps from outside the boundary rope and fields/catches the ball and sends it back to the other fielder while in the air.

Will the runs be given for this case? Because when the ball reached the boundary, the fielder was not in the field as he had crossed the rope.


Yes, the runs will be given for this. But not a boundary will be given, the runs which were taken by the batsmen running between the wickets will be awarded for the batsman.

The moment when the ball touches fielder will be noticed for deciding it a boundary or not. Touching the boundary rope or passing the boundary rope before or after getting touch with the ball will not cause any effect on the runs.

The best example I can provide you is Bollinger of Chennai Super kings took an excellent catch for Yousuf Pathan at IPL 2010 at the boundary rope.

See this youtube video for reference


Will the runs be given for this case?

I think your question should be: Will the boundary be given for this case? because runs can also be scored by running between the wicket.

So in this case the boundary will not be given because when he touches the boundary, the ball is not connected with his body. And when he touches the ball, he is not connected to the boundary. But yes, runs will be given which are scored by running between the wicket.

We can see a lot of such cases now days. For e.g. see this case happened here:

Angelo Mathews saves almost six here:

Also, even if the fielder takes the catch after touching the boundary it is legal.

See this video: David Hussey catches after touching the boundary:

  • At 0:47 on the David Hussey video, it looked like his right foot was touching the boundary "triangle" (or maybe it was not, it isn't quite clear). Not that it affects this answer in anyway.
    – Masked Man
    Nov 29 '13 at 6:00

The other 2 answers given for this question, are wrong. The situation described will be given as six i.e. six runs will be awarded to batting team.

I know these answers were given 7 years ago, so maybe the rules were different then.

But AS THE RULES STAND currently , this will be a six.

The relevant law is as follows

19.5.2 A fielder who is not in contact with the ground is considered to be grounded beyond the boundary if his/her final contact with the ground, before his/her first contact with the ball after it has been delivered by the bowler, was not entirely within the boundary.

So, since the question says "Then he jumps from outside the boundary rope and fields/catches the ball and sends it back to the other fielder while in the air" , so this clearly means that his final contact with the ground before his first contact with the ball, was outside the boundary.

So, according to the rules, when he first touched the ball, he was grounded outside the boundary (even though he was in the air at that moment) . Hence, this will be judged as a six.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.