The batter hits a fly ball double to center, but the runner does not touch first. The defense appeals and the batter is out 8-4-1-3.

How is the play scored? As a single with an out advancing, or just an out?

1 Answer 1


9.05 (a) gives the conditions for crediting a hit. Most of them require that the runner has to make it to first base safely.

This runner did not reach first base safely and is not entitled to a hit.

But to be more explicit, 9.05 (b)(2) states:

9.05 (b) The Official Scorer shall not credit a base hit when a:


(2) batter apparently hits safely and a runner who is forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner fails to touch the first base to which such runner is advancing and is called out on appeal. The Official Scorer shall charge the batter with a time at bat but no hit;

The runner fails to touch the base required (first) and is out on appeal. No hit.

  • This ignores the more interesting part of the question, though: how is the out scored? A putout by 3? An 8-4-1-3 ground out? A separate category for appeals I've never seen used in a scorecard? :)
    – chepner
    Jul 28, 2022 at 14:30
  • I thought only the batter scoring was in question and the 8-4-1-3 was given. It is possible (assuming it takes place during the play and not a separate appeal). If it's a throwover after time was called, score it 1-3 with only the pitcher having an assist. First base gets a putout in both cases.
    – BowlOfRed
    Jul 28, 2022 at 16:02

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge that you have read and understand our privacy policy and code of conduct.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.