Is it considered caught out if the cricket ball hits the handle of the bat and nothing else and the ball is subsequently caught?

1 Answer 1


Yes. Quoting Law 33.1:

The striker is out Caught if a ball delivered by the bowler [...] touches his/her bat and is subsequently held by a fielder [...] before it touches the ground.

The handle is explicitly part of the bat, as defined by Law 5.1.1:

The bat consists of two parts, a handle and a blade.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge that you have read and understand our privacy policy and code of conduct.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.