0

Found this video on facebook where a goal was cancelled because there was offside behind the goalkeeper. I don't know whether the video was fake or not.

enter image description here

What is the rule of this situation?

0

1 Answer 1

3

The Law is the same as it always is:

A player is in an offside position if: [...] any part of the head, body or feet is nearer to the opponents’ goal line than both the ball and the second-last opponent

The goalkeeper is not "special" in any way in the offside law: there must be two opponents closer to the goal-line than the player when the ball is played. In the screenshot in your question, there is only one opponent closer to the goal-line so it was correctly ruled offside.

0

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.