The score during a game of pickleball doubles is 4-7-2.

For those unfamiliar, this means that:

  • the serving team has 4 points,
  • the opposing team has 7 points, and
  • this is the second serve for the serving team.

Now suppose that the serving team wins the point. The score becomes 5-7. That much is clear, but:

Does the pickleball serving number reset when a point is won at the second serve?

Concretely, does the score become:

  1. 5-7-1 (with the serving number resetting to 1), or does it become
  2. 5-7-2 (with the serving number remaining 2 despite that this is the first serve to be made at the 5-7 score?

1 Answer 1


In a game of pickleball doubles, the score 4-7-2 means that the serving team has 4 points, the opposing team has 7 points, and it is the serving team's second serve. If the serving team wins the point, the score becomes 5-7.

The question is whether the serving number resets to 1 after a point is won on the second serve. The answer is no, the serving number does not reset. The score would become 5-7-2, with the serving team still serving their second serve. The serving number only resets at the start of a new game or if the serving team loses a point.

  • Welcome to Stack Exchange - however, please note that unnecessary links to your site are likely to get your answer flagged as spam and deleted by the community; I've removed the link in this case.
    – Philip Kendall
    Commented Mar 1, 2023 at 9:45
  • Not sure why there are vote-downs. Thanks for settling this puzzle, but are you sure of this answer? Could you add a few words to describe why you think so?
    – Sam7919
    Commented Mar 1, 2023 at 10:11
  • 1
    @Sam The downvotes were due to the unnecessary link causing the post to be marked as spam.
    – Philip Kendall
    Commented Mar 1, 2023 at 10:25
  • @PhilipKendall I see. Aside from SE rules, including the rule preferring answers to be self-contained, I have no issue with external references (including self-referencing), but only if the reference sheds more light on an issue, which is not the case here.
    – Sam7919
    Commented Mar 1, 2023 at 10:40

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.