Can a baserunner run back to their starting base in a stealing base situation? R1 steals legally 2B and 3B but then he wants to come back ti 1B, is legal ?

1 Answer 1


In the scenario you describe, no. Rule 5.09(b)(10) in the MLB rules, for example, prohibits running the bases in reverse order.

  • This is correct, but it misses the complexity of the question. Why can a runner not return to first base after stealing second, but they can return to first after touching second if there was a fly ball out on the play?
    – Joe
    Mar 7 at 20:03
  • 1
    Because they did not legally advance to second in the latter scenario. There's no complexity in the question as asked (it specifically says 2nd and 3rd bases were stolen), though there has been a raft of questions (of varying specificity) recently, all asking variations on this theme.
    – chepner
    Mar 7 at 20:24
  • That should probably be in the answer (with the rules reference) to make this a great answer. (Also, copy/paste the actual rule plus link to it - thanks for including the rule number but given they can change over time, it's best to include the text.)
    – Joe
    Mar 7 at 21:26

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge that you have read and understand our privacy policy and code of conduct.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.