2

If I catch a pass while jumping next to my sideline and land with one foot in and then step out of bounds, in the NFL, that's not a complete pass.

But what if I catch it on the one foot and then hop a few times -- while I have 1 foot in bounds, I take more than 1 step!

Is the rule about 2 (different) feet inbounds or 2 steps (the way a completed pass needs a step taken)? What if I were to keep hopping and move forward ten yards and then fall out of bounds (imagine a player who gets an ankle hurt while running a route and can't put the injured foot down) -- is that complete and in-bounds?

Taken to an extreme, can a one legged player ever complete a reception while standing? (if he kneels or sits, other body parts touch the ground and they substitute for the leg).

I'm not being silly here -- I have seen players catch a pass, land on one foot and then take a quick hop and THEN fall out of bounds (not in the NFL). I don't know if that would count as 2 feet in or not (the one foot lands twice after the completion).

(the one answer I got was that the catch would be complete but not legally in-bounds, making it both complete and incomplete at the same time)

1 Answer 1

6

No; if a player hops with one foot and never places the other foot in bounds, then the player is out of bounds and it is not a completed catch. From the NFL Rulebook, rule 8.1.2:

A forward pass is complete (by the offense) or intercepted (by the defense) in the field of play, at the sideline, or in the end zone if a player, who is inbounds: ... touches the ground inbounds with both feet or with any part of his body other than his hands

Both feet are explicitly required - not one foot multiple times.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.