During the 2023 WTA Miami Open Final, during a rally, Petra Kvitova reached over the net and hit the ball without it crossing the net to her side. She did not touch the net. The point was allowed; Kvitova won the point. There was no complaint. Why was this permitted?
I'm going to assume that this is in regards to the 2nd Set; Game 3; Adv. Kvitova - as this is the only shot that I've found where Kvitova reaches over the net...
Petra Kvitova reached over the net and hit the ball without it crossing the net to her side.
I actually think this is incorrect - from the following highlights on this youtube video, slowed down, it appears as if the ball bounces on Kvitova's side of the court, before returning back over the net and being hit by Kvitova.
You can see here, that the ball appears to be in front of the black taper at the bottom of the net, therefore inside Kvitova's court, and hence why her shot was legal.
From the ITF Tennis Rules:
25: A GOOD RETURN
It is a good return if:
- b) After the ball in play has hit the ground within the correct court and has spun or been blown back over the net, the player reaches over the net and plays the ball into the correct court, provided that the player does not break Rule 24; or