3

Under older NFL rules, it was legal, even if unusual, to line up for an extra point kick but make a try for the endzone to score two points.

The linked question and answer are from before a considerable rule change in the NFL. Before, either play would happen from the 2. Now, kicks are from the 15 and two-point tries are from the 2.

Is it still possible to run a fake kick to try for the two-point conversion? The discussion here does not clarify.

4
  • Also: sports.stackexchange.com/questions/12493/…
    – BowlOfRed
    Jul 28, 2023 at 17:07
  • The rules don't specify. I have a firm opinion about what would likely happen, but the 2022 rulebook appears to be silent on it.
    – BowlOfRed
    Jul 28, 2023 at 17:08
  • @BowlOfRed If the rules do not specify, I would think it’s business as usual: if you punch it in, you get the points that go along with doing so. What is your take?
    – Dave
    Jul 28, 2023 at 17:18
  • This was answered in the Cowboys - Patriots game, check here.
    – treuss
    Oct 4, 2023 at 20:40

1 Answer 1

3

A discussion of the opposite play (a kick attempted from the run/pass starting position) on footballzebras.com notes that the rulebook does not specify this, but declares that this would be legal and still valid for 2 points.

If a team attempts a kick that does not snap from the 15 (or equivalent yard line after a penalty), it is a touchback, and the conversion attempt fails.

On the other hand, if the line of scrimmage is set for a kick, the offense may still run or pass for two points, particularly if there is a botched snap.

This agrees with my personal opinion of what should happen on the field.


Per ESPN, on October 1, 2023, Dallas became the first team to score 2 points on a fake field goal try since the attempts were relocated. (They do point out that the Browns scored 2 on a blocked attempt in 2019).

This happened during the 2023 week 4 matchup between the Patriots and Cowboys. After a Cowboys touchdown early in the 2nd quarter, Dallas lined up for a try in the field goal formation from the 15. Instead of a kick, the team threw a forward pass and was able to move the ball into the end zone. The successful try was awarded two points. NFL video on youtube.

5
  • +1 It seems like we’re in agreement that it’s business as usual: punching it in again after a touchdown warrants two points. It does seem like a strange strategy to go for two from so far out, but teams fake punts on 4th and long, so maybe the element of surprise is appealing to some coaches.
    – Dave
    Jul 28, 2023 at 17:37
  • 1
    The much more likely situation is that mentioned in the answer: a botched snap and the holder running it in (or similar)
    – Philip Kendall
    Jul 28, 2023 at 20:37
  • Does the “touchback” in the quote mean that it would automatically be the opponent’s ball without a kickoff?
    – Dave
    Jul 29, 2023 at 22:22
  • No. Just the try would fail. After the try is over, a free kick would be used to put the ball in play.
    – BowlOfRed
    Jul 30, 2023 at 3:41
  • It happened! Answer accepted!
    – Dave
    Oct 3, 2023 at 13:42

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.