In basketball, let's say a player is inbounding the ball, tosses the basketball at the referee who’s inside the playing court, and the same player takes the ball back to action afterwards.

It is a good ball or violation?

1 Answer 1


This is covered by NBA Rules Rule 10, Section III

A thrower-in shall not (1) carry the ball onto the court; (2) fail to release the ball within 5 seconds; (3) touch it on the court before it has touched another player; (4) leave the designated throw-in spot which is one step to his left or right; (5) throw the ball so that it enters the basket before touching anyone on the court; (6) step on the court over the boundary line before the ball is released; (7) throw the ball out-of-bounds without it being touched by a player in the game; (8) exit the playing surface to gain an advantage on a throw-in; (9) hand the ball to a player on the court.

PENALTY: Loss of ball. The ball is awarded to the opposing team at the original spot of the throw-in.

The referee is not a player and does not satisfy the prohibition for clause (3). This is a violation and the opposing team gets the ball.

FIBA Rules are very similar here, and the corresponding section is 17.3.1.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.