1

Can a player steal a base during an appeal play of another runner missing a bag?

1
  • 1
    Please clarify your specific problem or provide additional details to highlight exactly what you need. As it's currently written, it's hard to tell exactly what you're asking.
    – Community Bot
    Aug 19, 2023 at 21:01

1 Answer 1

0

Runners are allowed to advance at their own risk when the ball is in play (time out has not been called).

Different leagues have different rules about the specifics of the appeal process. But for MLB, runner appeals are made when the ball is live, so a runner on base may attempt to steal during an appeal play.

1
  • I understand this is an old post, but I just had to mention this. Stealing on an appeal would make some sense, since the catcher would be distracted while appealing to first or third base umpire. Still risk involved though. I've seen it happen a couple times. May 17 at 18:32

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.