In beachvolleyball, the rules about blocking a ball beyond the net and what is considered an attack hit are a bit unclear to me. Here are the relevant rules: (from https://www.fivb.com/en/beachvolleyball/thegame_bvb_glossary/officialrulesofthegames )
11.1 REACHING BEYOND THE NET
11.1.1 In blocking, a player may touch the ball beyond the net, provided that he/she does not interfere with the opponent’s play, before the latter’s attack hit.
13.1 CHARACTERISTICS OF THE ATTACK HIT
13.1.1 All actions which direct the ball towards the opponent, with the exception of service and block, are considered as attack hits.
Lets say player A sets player B, and player C (other team) is getting ready to block B. Do I understand the rules correctly in the following scenarios?
- Player A sets perpendicular to the net and the ball clearly stays on their teams side. Therefore it is not an attack hit, and player C may not touch the ball before B because it would interfere with B's play.
- Player A sets the ball such that it is moving towards the net and might go over if neither B or C touch it, but it is in reach of both B and C. Because A already made an attack hit, C may hit it before B, even tough it interferes with B's play.
- Player A sets the ball such that it is moving towards the net but does not seem likely to go over. Both player B and C are in reach of it. Because the set is not going over, it is not an attack hit and player C may not touch it before player B (im very unsure here).
- Player A sets in such a way that the ball stays on their side but B is is not able to reach it. C may hit it because it is not interfering with B's play.
Do I get this correctly? Generally I am not sure if I understand 13.1.1 correctly. "All actions which direct the ball towards the opponent" -> does the ball have to actually be on a trajectory to the opponents side to count as an attack hit, or is it enough that it goes into the direction of the opponents?