0

Orange team commits a yellow card slide tackle on blue, but play is allowed on through advantage. The blue team scores.

Should the orange player still receive a yellow card for the challenge?

1
  • 1
    Reckless tackle? Then yes. Or what situation is this?
    – dly
    Sep 11, 2023 at 17:57

1 Answer 1

1

It doesn't matter what the outcome of the advantage is. If the offence needs caution/warning/card/sent off right away, it still deserves it afterwards and has to be sanctioned at the first stop, before play resumes.

From the FIFA Laws of the Game:

Advantage

If the referee plays the advantage for an offence for which a caution / send off would have been issued had play been stopped, this caution / send off must be issued when the ball is next out of play, except for the denial of an obvious goal-scoring opportunity when the player is cautioned for unsporting behaviour.

Advantage should not be applied in situations involving serious foul play, violent conduct or a second cautionable offence unless there is a clear opportunity to score a goal. The referee must send off the player when the ball 105 is next out of play but if the player plays the ball or challenges/interferes with an opponent, the referee will stop play, send off the player and restart with an indirect free kick, unless the player committed a more serious offence.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.