0

In the UK, the LTA, basically the UK tennis governing body has a rule:

If a player serves out of turn during a standard game, the player who was originally due to serve will serve as soon as the error is discovered. However, if a game is completed before the error is discovered the order of service will remain as altered.

I am trying to understand how this would work in the case that the error is discovered after an out of sequence serve.

Scenario is we have player A and player B, A wins toss and decides to serve first. What happens if A serves for game 1 and A serves for game 2, then at the end of game 2 they realise that A should not have served game 2. Does A go onto serve game 3 and they then carry on as normal, or does B serve game 3 and they then carry on alternating.

1
  • That's exactly what the sentence "if a game is completed before the error is discovered the order of service will remain as altered." covers. Game 2 is completed, the altered order that A serves even and B serves odd games will remain, so B will serve game 3.
    – treuss
    Sep 23, 2023 at 11:32

0

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.