0

If the player catches the football after he runs behind the line at the back of the endzone is it a touchdown? Is he out of bounds?

1
  • 1
    Is the player still beyond the line when they catch the ball, or have they come back into the field of play?
    – Philip Kendall
    Dec 29, 2023 at 8:35

1 Answer 1

1

Not eligible (no touchdown)

Exceptions:

  1. If they are pushed out and immediately come back into the endzone. (Touchdown if they catch it in bounds)
  2. If the defense touched the pass first (generally everyone is an eligible receiver after that). (Touchdown if they catch it in bounds).

Source: NCAA 2023 Football Rules, Rule 7, section 3, article 4.

P.S. in case this is the question: The end line out the back of the endzone is the same as going out of bounds on a sideline. Caught there is out of bounds. If they go out on their own and come back, it is illegal touching.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.