In Steelers/Ravens game on Jan 6, 2024, the Steelers kick returner (Godwin Igwebuike) intentionally went out of bounds and touched a kickoff while lying across the sideline, being both in bounds and out of bounds therefore having not re-established himself in the field of play.

Was this the correct call by the officials?

1 Answer 1


Yes, this is a reasonably well known point in the rules (at least if you watch "NFL IQ 100 plays" on YouTube or similar), perhaps most famously when Ty Montgomery did it for the Packers in 2016.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.