0

Assume 'A' is playing at striker's end and 'B' is at non striker's end, If 'A' runs for a single run on the last ball of the 5th over and B is run out at the striker's end, who will be on strike on for the 1st ball of the 6th over? 'A' or new batter?

1 Answer 1

0

For now, ignore the fact that it is the end of an over. The important law here is 18.11.1:

When the striker is dismissed in any of the circumstances in 18.11.1.1 to 18.11.1.8, the not out batter shall return to his/her original end.

18.11.1.1 to 18.11.1.8 are bowled, caught1, LBW, stumped, hit wicket, hit the ball twice, obstructing the field (under some circumstances) and when a runner is dismissed (under some circumstances). This list does not include run out, so the batters remain at the ends they were when the dismissal occurred.

A is now at the "over 5" non-striker's end, so will face the first ball of the 6th over.

1. Added to the list as of 1st October 2022.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.