1

What if a flyball touches a fielder then hits a runner and goes out of play? What's the call? Double grounded, right?

2
  • 2
    By "double grounded" do you mean the automatic award of two bases under MLB rule 5.06(b)(4)(G) which is commonly (and incorrectly) referred to as a "ground rule double"?
    – Philip Kendall
    Commented Feb 4 at 10:45
  • Good Question. Anyone else here (OP left) should see my answer below as I found the topic rather interesting as I hadn't considered this before. Commented Apr 10 at 20:00

1 Answer 1

2

Fair Ball Touches the Runner Before the Infield Makes a Play: If a fair ball touches the runner before an infielder (excluding the pitcher) can attempt to make a play on the ball, it is ruled as interference on the baserunner.

Fair Ball is Deflected off of an Infielder and Hits the Baserunner: When a baserunner gets hit by a batted ball because an infielder deflected it, the baserunner is not out, and the ball remains in play. The offence can advance on this play.

5
  • 1
    For the situation in the question "What if a flyball touches a fielder then hits a runner", your lead assertion that the runner is out is not true because of the last exception you note.
    – Philip Kendall
    Commented Apr 6 at 8:06
  • @PhilipKendall I'll edit for that Commented Apr 6 at 16:15
  • 2
    You're still burying the lead which is that the runner is not out in this case.
    – Philip Kendall
    Commented Apr 6 at 17:11
  • 1
    Thank you for editing your answer. Commented Apr 8 at 20:22
  • @DekoRevinio You're very welcome, Deko! Commented Apr 8 at 20:24

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.