8

Player A inbounds the ball but Player B knocks the ball back at him.

Player A is still out-of-bounds when the batted ball hits him.

Is it Team A's ball because Player A never became a "live" player?

Is it Team B's ball because the ball hit him as he was standing out-of-bounds?

1

According to (NBA) Rule 8-Section II-c:

The ball is caused to go out-of-bounds by the last player to touch it before it goes out, provided it is out-of-bounds because of touching something other than a player. If the ball is out-of-bounds because of touching a player who is on or outside a boundary, such player caused it to go out. [My emphasis.]

The similar rule in the (FIBA) Official Basketball Rules 2012 is:

23.2.2 If the ball is out-of-bounds because of touching or being touched by a player who is on or outside the boundary line, this player causes the ball to go out-of-bounds.

So, the ball is now Team B's.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.