If a closer pitches the ninth inning, coming in with a 3-2 lead, and gives up an earned run, that would characterized as a "blown save."

Suppose the run was UNearned because of a fielding error. Is it still a "blown save?"

1 Answer 1



Saves and holds, like wins, are wholly dependent on the score and do not account for whether or not a run is earned or unearned.

The save rule's first clause is the one clearly in play here


He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his team;

The remainder of the save rule defines the context of a save situation. If you enter the game in a save situation and fail to hold the lead then you are awarded a blown save. It does not matter whether or not the runs you allow are earned or unearned.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge that you have read and understand our privacy policy and code of conduct.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.