Is it allowed, in badminton (mix) doubles, to use your partner to gain more height in order to perform a jump smash for example?

1 Answer 1


Presumably you mean by, say lifting your partner in the air.

I don't think there's any rule which would ban this.

However, I doubt that it would be effective in practice as the game is so fast and you'd only know where the shuttle is going at the last second. Also, as there are only two of you on the court, you may struggle to lift your partner without dropping your racket.

Contrast this with a Rugby Lineout, where a lighter player may be surrounded by several stronger players with their hands free.

enter image description here

  • 2
    "[L]ifting your partner in the air like they do in volleyball" actually happens in volleyball?
    – user1564
    Oct 13, 2013 at 21:29
  • I could be wrong. I don't know much about volleyball! Oct 14, 2013 at 8:15
  • 1
    I was wrong. It's illegal in volleyball, but allowed in Rugby - see edit. Jan 14, 2020 at 11:47

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge that you have read and understand our privacy policy and code of conduct.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.