Imagine me, climbing and sitting on someone's(teammate) shoulders. We are standing near opponents basket. I get a pass and since i am at 3 meters height, i cannot be blocked and most probably i will score.

Is this illegal? If yes, according to what rule?


Climbing on a teammate is illegal.

In the NCAA, this is a Class B technical foul. When this occurs, two free throws are awarded to any member of the other team.

From NCAA Men's Basketball 2013-14 and 2014-15 Rules, Rule 10 (Fouls and Penalties), Section 4 (Class B Technical Infractions):

Art. 1. A technical foul shall be assessed to a player or a substitute for the following infractions:

b. Climbing on or lifting a teammate to secure greater height.

PENALTY: Article 1 and Article 2.a through i. Two free throws shall be awarded to any member of the offended team. All infractions count toward ejection but do not count toward the team-foul total or disqualification.

In the NBA, this is considered an Illegal Assist in Scoring, and results in a loss of the ball.

From Official Rules of the National Basketball Association, Rule 10 (Violations and Penalties), Section XIII (Illegal Assist in Scoring):

Section XIII-Illegal Assist in Scoring
a. A player may not assist himself to score by using the basket ring or back-board to lift, hold or raise himself.
b. A player may not assist a teammate to gain height while attempting to score.
PENALTY: Loss of ball. The ball is awarded to the opposing team at the free throw line extended.

| improve this answer | |
  • What about FIBA rules? I tried to find something about it but failed. – Pablo H Jul 20 '18 at 13:29
  • @PabloH I've looked through the FIBA official rules, and I couldn't find a rule against this, either. Do you play FIBA? You should try getting on the shoulders of a teammate, scoring a goal, and report back to us what happens. :) – Ben Miller - Remember Monica Jul 20 '18 at 13:43
  • Hahaha, no; played when a kid, too old and unfit now. Besides jumping on a (passive) teammate, as in Australian football, another possible move is actively hand-supporting a teammate as they do when throwing from the line in rugby. Assists like these would also be useful for blocking. – Pablo H Jul 20 '18 at 13:50

From FIBA Rules Interpretations (31 Jan 2019): https://www.fiba.basketball/rules/interpretations.pdf

"25-7 Statement. It is a violation to lift a team-mate to play the ball.

25-8 Example: A1 embraces his team-mate A2 and lifts him up under the opponent’s basket. A3 passes the ball to A2 who dunks the ball into the basket. Interpretation: This is a violation. The goal shall not count. Team B shall be awarded a throwin from the sideline at the free-throw line extended in its backcourt."

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.