According to this site "(b) A Let shall be allowed: ... (iii) If an otherwise good return has been made, but the ball goes out on its first bounce. "
I'm not entirely sure what this means. Could someone describe this scenario?
Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It only takes a minute to sign up.Sign up to join this community
A let is basically a stroke that, due to some variety of circumstances, is counted as "void" and the point is completely replayed. The specific scenario you're referring to is when the first bounce of the ball in a rally lands outside of the area of play. It's not noted in the source you've provided, but it's also a let under the same rule if the ball manages to lodge itself in the court somehow, as opposed to bouncing naturally.