From formula1.com:

Double drivers’ and constructors’ points will be awarded at the final race of the Formula One season - Abu Dhabi for 2014 - in order to maximise focus on the championship until the end of the campaign.

Does this rule also apply for the places outside the points (11th-22nd). Does an 11th place in the last race count as two 11th places? That would be important for the small teams without any points at the end of the championship.

1 Answer 1


This new rule give duplicate points only for the last race of the season, so:

  • the winner takes 25*2=50 points
  • the second takes 18*2=36 points

so on from 3rd to 9th arrived

  • the 10th takes 1*2=2 points
  • the 11th do not takes points

The pilots award only one placement (so no double victory on the same track).

  • 2
    This is all correct, @Ale but it doesn't specifically answer the poster's question, i.e. when determining who finished first amongst the non-point-scorers in the championship, will the team who finished 11th in the final race be credited with the equivalent of two 11th place finishes thereby potentially beating another back-marker team who "only" finished 11th in one other race.
    – Greg
    Commented Dec 10, 2013 at 11:06
  • As written in the last line, I think (so I cannot assume it like a definitive sentence) that also in this case it will be duplicate only the points
    – Ale
    Commented Dec 10, 2013 at 16:20

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.