1

Can the striker be dismissed, Caught, if the ball is deflected off an umpire before that fielder takes the catch?

  • Is it "the ball is deflected off an umpire after that fielder takes the catch" or "the ball is deflected off an umpire before that fielder takes the catch"? – Himanshu Jansari Dec 16 '13 at 10:13
  • It is the ball is deflected off an umpire before that fielder takes the catch and here fielder takes the catch in the second attempt.in the first attempt the ball is deflected by fielder. – Keerthi Kumar Dec 17 '13 at 5:51
  • 2
    @SportsFan - So this website is now started generating duplicate posts regularly. :-) – Himanshu Jansari Dec 18 '13 at 5:18
4

Law 32 of the Laws of cricket here

fair catch

(d) a fielder catches the ball after it has touched an umpire, another fielder or the other batsman.

| improve this answer | |
  • i think this scenario is if the ball hits directly to the umpire before fielder takes the catch. – Keerthi Kumar Dec 17 '13 at 6:32
  • You have asked for the same @KeerthiKumar. Please update your question with the latest scenario. – Himanshu Jansari Dec 17 '13 at 8:52

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.