6

I'm an ameture and don't know about all the rules in badminton. I was serving the backhand low service. But someone told me that I have to hit the shuttle when I totally release the shuttle. I debated with him that is totally impossible to serve if I don't release the shuttle totally.

Again he told me that I'm releasing the shuttle at last moment, not giving enough time to release the shuttle totally.

Now I want to know

Is there any rule that says that I have to give minimum x amount of time to release the shuttle entirely before serving?

Or what is the minimum interval time to serve after realising the shuttle?

I was practicing like told in the Youtube tutorial and I'm pretty sure I was doing as much possible exactly like that.

4

LAWS OF BADMINTON

According to the official LAWS OF BADMINTON (2012), set by the Badminton World Federation, chapter 9 is applicable: SERVICE.

In that chapter, no reference can be found of the fact that a specific time interval needs to be taken into account or that the shuttle needs to be fully released.

The following is to mention about "taking your time":

9.1.1 neither side shall cause undue delay to the delivery of the service once the server and the receiver are ready for the service. On completion of the backward movement of server’s racket head, any delay in the start of the service (Law 9.2), shall be considered to be an undue delay;

and in chapter 16, this is restricted:

16.6.1 deliberately cause delay in, or suspension of, play;

In hitting the shuttle, these two paragraphs are to be followed:

9.1.4 the server’s racket shall initially hit the base of the shuttle;
...
9.1.8 the flight of the shuttle shall be upwards from the server’s racket to pass over the net so that, if not intercepted, it shall land in the receiver’s service court (i. e. on or within the boundary lines);

If you do the above (with or without holding the shuttle), then you're safe !!

PS: I've just tried hitting a shuttle by holding it: that's merely impossible, without smashing your fingers.....

  • 2
    I know my fellow "all-knowing" player will not believe this if I told him. But your answer made my day. Also thanks for trying it practically. I will give some time others to answer. :) – Anirban Nag 'tintinmj' Jan 4 '14 at 22:42

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.