How can there be a fake field goal or extra point in college when the holder starts out with his knee on the ground? This should instantly ground the ball if the kicker isn't going to kick it.
The rules make a special exception for the case of a kick holder, or else place kicks would be nearly impossible to execute.
In NCAA Rule 4, section 1:
ARTICLE 3. A live ball becomes dead and an official shall sound his whistle or declare it dead:
b. When any part of the ball carrier’s body, except his hand or foot, touches the ground or when the ball carrier is tackled or otherwise falls and loses possession of the ball as he contacts the ground with any part of his body, except his hand or foot [Exception: The ball remains alive when an offensive player has simulated a kick or at the snap is in position to kick the ball held for a place kick by a teammate. The ball may be kicked, passed or advanced by rule]
You are only down if you possess the football and are on a knee.
Take a look at this fake extra point Oregon executed for a 2 point conversion in the 2011 BCS championship game. Note how the holder comes out of his crouch and does not have his knee touching the ground when he receives the football.
Additionally, there is a specific excpetion for the holder on a scrimmage kick
Exception: The ball remains alive when an offensive player has simulated a kick or at the snap is in position to kick the ball held for a place kick by a teammate. The ball may be kicked, passed or advanced by rule.
protected by user527 Oct 20 '15 at 13:23
Thank you for your interest in this question.
Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site (the association bonus does not count).
Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?