What happens when I bounce-pass the ball into the basket, like in a circus shot? Does this count as a successful basket?
Yes, a bounce that goes into the basket would count as a successful goal. Anytime (except on a throw-in) a live ball goes through the basket, it is a goal, and it doesn't matter who, if anyone, threw the ball.
From the NCAA Men's Basketball 2013-14 and 2014-15 Rules, Rule 5 (Scoring and Timing Regulations), Section 1, Article 2:
Art. 2. A goal is made when:
a. A live ball that is not a throw-in enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through the basket; or
b. A free throw enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through the basket.
After a player bounces the ball, the ball is still live, meaning that any player could theoretically grab the ball and continue playing. So if the ball goes in the basket, the goal would count.
protected by Community♦ Feb 11 at 23:57
Thank you for your interest in this question.
Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site (the association bonus does not count).
Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?