3

Is beamer counted as a bouncer in ODI cricket? I.e. if a bowler bowls a beamer then whether he is allowed to bowl a bouncer in that over?

  • @Spinner - I really searched hard in Cricket laws, ICC Match Playing Conditions, Wikipedia etc but couldn't find any specification regarding this. I think the only option is to find out from the real match commentary/video. I will try to find it later. So I have deleted the answer right now. – hims056 May 2 '14 at 8:39
  • @hims056 Fair enough. If there's nothing in the Laws or Playing Conditions to indicate that a beamer is counted as a bouncer, I'm inclined to believe that a beamer is not counted as one. – Spinner May 2 '14 at 9:04
1

No. A beamer is an immediate no ball and does not count toward any part of the over.

From Wikipedia:

This type of delivery can result in injuries to the batsman, and the penalty for this type of delivery is an immediate no-ball signal given by the umpire. The use of beamers is governed under Law 42.6.

  • An immediate no ball is a law for a beamer. But does it also count as one of the bouncer? There is no specification in the given reference. – hims056 May 3 '14 at 3:55
  • No, a no-ball could not be counted as one of the bouncers because that only counts legal deliveries. – Adrian May 6 '14 at 15:38
-2

The regulations specify a 'bouncer' as a 'fast short pitched delivery' which 'passes or would pass over the shoulder height of the batsmen standing upright at the popping crease'.

While a beamer fulfils the height requirement, it certainly is not 'short pitched' and therefore does not count towards the bouncer limit.

  • 3
    What regulation, where? – Nij Jul 17 '17 at 20:25

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.