What happens in a scenario where the batsman plays a shot down the ground and it hits the umpire? Isn't it unfair to the batsman to lose a certain boundary had there been one? Does the ball count as a dead ball?


If the ball hits to the an on field umpire, it is not considered a dead ball unless:

  • the ball lodges in the clothes of an umpire. (See Law 23.1.a.5)
  • a serious injury to an umpire occurs (after the ball hits to an umpire) (See Law 23.4.b.2)

In such cases, it will be a regular dead ball. i.e. the ball will be considered a legal ball but no more runs will be allowed to take to the batsman after that incident occurred.

Here is an example case for such incident:

See this YouTube clip. It occurred in the 1st ODI between New Zealand and Bangladesh in Auckland in 26-Dec-2007. See the ball 44.5 in the commentary. The ball was considered a normal ball.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.