9

I found some information on rules, but I never found a clear answer to what should be done when a served ball touches the net.
Is it point for opponent, or should the serve be redone?
If redone - will it be redone regardless of how many times it hit the net?

7

If the serve touches the net, it is a let, and you must serve again. If it touches the net and lands on the floor, you lose a point. If the serve goes into the net, you lose the point.

  • 1
    It is redone regardless of how many times you hit the net as long as it lands in play. – Greg Mar 1 '12 at 15:33
10

According to the USATT Rules

2.9 A Let

2.9.1 The rally shall be a let

2.9.1.1 if in service the ball, in passing over or around the net assembly, touches it, provided the service is otherwise good or the ball is obstructed by the receiver or his/her partner;

Which means you must serve again if other than touching the net the service would be good. other wise rule 2.10.1.1 would apply:

2.10 A Point

2.10.1 Unless the rally is a let, a player shall score a point

2.10.1.1 if the opponent fails to make a correct service

  • 4
    Not to cut down Greg's answer, which appears to be factually correct, you can't do better than citing the official rules. – corsiKa Mar 1 '12 at 18:56

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy