If a player already has a yellow card, but is then awarded a direct red card (not a second yellow card), does the first yellow card still stand? The player misses the next match, but in the following match, is the yellow card still valid or is it cancelled?

  • 1 and 2 should answer your questions! foxsportspulse.com/…
    – cantsay
    Commented Jun 29, 2014 at 21:19
  • 1
    @Catherine this question has been answered. If there is a problem with the answer, please leave a comment so it can be improved and/or someone else can make a better attempt at answering the question. Otherwise, please mark it as the accepted answer. Commented Jul 4, 2014 at 4:27

1 Answer 1


This depends entirely on the competition rules, but for FIFA sanctioned competitions (such as the World Cup), the following from page 17 of the FIFA Disciplinary Code applies:

If a player is guilty of serious unsporting behaviour as defined in Law 12 of the Laws of the Game and is sent off (direct red card), any other caution he has previously received in the same match is upheld.

Most football associations will follow FIFA's lead and adopt this regulation.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.