In 8-ball, if you sink the opponent's ball while sinking your own, do you keep playing, hand over play, or is it considered a foul?

  • 2
    Are you referring to American 8-ball or English 8-ball Pool? They are different games with different foul shot rules.
    – sequoiad
    Jul 6, 2016 at 10:42
  • 1
    I have no idea. I'm just a casual player.
    – Mitch
    Jul 6, 2016 at 11:28
  • 2
    Keep in mind that there are multiple sets of rules for 8-ball.
    – Ben Miller
    Jan 9, 2017 at 13:56
  • @gdrt: I can't see anything about sources in the SE guidelines - where is that mentioned?
    – Mitch
    Aug 26, 2017 at 19:40
  • @Mitch, here it's said that: links to external resources are encouraged. I just thought that it's redundant, cause anyway we always ask people to answer with sources, especially when the question has the rules tag. But if you like the previous version, you can, of course, rollback.
    – gdrt
    Aug 26, 2017 at 22:49

1 Answer 1


Assuming that you have not committed a standard foul otherwise, sinking the opponent's ball is not a foul in itself, so my interpretation of it is that you can continue with the game as you would have normally.

The following is an excerpt from World Pool-Billiards Association rulebook for 8-ball:

3.9 Standard Fouls If the shooter commits a foul, play passes to his opponent. The cue ball is in hand, and the incoming player may place it anywhere on the playing surface. (See 1.5 Cue Ball in Hand.)

The following are standard fouls at eight ball:

6.1 Cue Ball Scratch or off the Table

6.2 Wrong Ball First The first ball contacted by the cue ball on each shot must belong to the shooter’s group, except when the table is open. (See 3.4 Open Table / Choosing Groups).

6.3 No Rail after Contact

6.4 No Foot on Floor

6.5 Ball Driven off the Table (See 3.7 Spotting Balls.)

6.6 Touched Ball

6.7 Double Hit / Frozen Balls

6.8 Push Shot

6.9 Balls Still Moving

6.10 Bad Cue Ball Placement

6.11 Bad Play from Behind the Head String

6.12 Cue Stick on the Table

6.13 Playing out of Turn

6.14 Three Consecutive Fouls

6.15 Slow Play

6.16 Ball Rack Template Foul


Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.