When doing a penalty shootout, is it possible for the opposing team's goalkeeper to take a kick? I've never seen it happen, but it seems that since the goalie is part of the team, he/she should be able to take a kick.

Bonus: Has this ever happened?

  • I do not know much about football but isn't there in English a word for "penalty" when they are used to decide a winner? In French there is the word "tirs au but" for that (and "penalty" is the same kick, but following a fault)
    – WoJ
    Jul 7, 2014 at 10:30
  • In Hockey, it is called a "shootout" Jul 7, 2014 at 11:14
  • @WoJ: It's known as a penalty shootout. Jul 7, 2014 at 18:32
  • 2
    Just for fun, here's an incredible goal by the goalkeeper in normal game: youtube.com/watch?v=4u0tNcq3SGY
    – user5006
    Jul 7, 2014 at 23:19
  • 5
    It's called "kicks from the penalty mark" in the rulebook, but everyone calls it a penalty shootout, because, let's face it - "kicks from the penalty mark" doesn't exactly roll off the tongue. Jul 7, 2014 at 23:31

6 Answers 6


Yes, they can.

Example: During the 2012 UEFA Champions League final, Manuel Neuer of Bayern Munich took a penalty against Chelsea, when the game went into penalties.

Please refer this wikipedia link.

Also, when a game is being decided by penalties, then all players must have taken one penalty each, before a player can take a second penalty. So, a goal keeper would have to take a penalty, before any other player gets a second chance.

  • 6
    One other memorable example I can think of is the quarter-final between Portugal and England at Euro 2004. Portugal's goalkeeper Ricardo made a save with bare hands and went on to score the deciding penalty himself.
    – Artyom
    Jul 7, 2014 at 7:54
  • 6
    There have been very proficient free kick and penalty takers who are goalies, such as Rogerio Ceni, Jose Luis Chilavert or the already mentioned Hans-Jörg Butt. Chilavert was also a reliable scorer as an international for Paraguay.
    – SBI
    Jul 7, 2014 at 9:27
  • 7
    Wikipedia has a great article List of goalscoring goalkeepers. Top of the list is Rogério Ceni with a crazy 118 goals in his career (!), from penalties and free kicks mostly (all?) at club level, then José Luis Chilavert with the most international goals and who is the only keeper to score 3 in one game. Jul 8, 2014 at 11:21
  • I would like to add that when one side receives a red card during the game, the other side has to appoint a player that cannot take a penalty during a penalty shootout. So, the team that is still complete has the privilege to not let their worst penalty taker shoot a penalty. May 6, 2015 at 7:36
  • @Artyom He did that, and repeated at 2006's World Cup, again against England
    – Oak
    Feb 16, 2016 at 2:04

The accepted answer is great but I might add that in kicks from the penalty mark to decide a winner, all eligible players need to have taken a kick before a player may take a second kick.

This means that the goalkeeper not only can take a kick, but must take a kick before any of the other players take a second kick.

  • Regarding the first part: Except when one team is down to 10 (or less) players, then 1 (or more) player will not have to take a penalty from the other team.
    – Don_Biglia
    May 5, 2015 at 14:42
  • 2
    @ThomasDB - yes, excess players due to send-offs or injuries from the other team will be excluded by the captain before the beginning of kicks from the penalty mark, meaning they are not eligible. I'll edit this in - thanks! May 6, 2015 at 5:58

Of course it's legal and has happened many times other than the accepted answer's example. E.g José Luis Chilavert used to take penalties that were not even in penalty shoot-outs, as well as free kicks. See: Jose Luis Chilavert's international goals (YouTube).

  • What happens if the goal is saved and the ball goes live? Can the defending team go score without the goalie at the other end?
    – Neil Meyer
    Mar 9, 2017 at 17:54

An better example than Manuel Neuer would be Jörg Butt:

"Known for taking penalty kicks, he scored 26 goals in the Bundesliga."



Yes, it is legal - and as someone already claimed, even required if all other players have taken theirs.

To give some examples: Manuel Neuer converted a penalty for Bayern Munich against Real Madrid (?) in the Champions League quite recently. There are also goalkeepers who take penalties during the game, such as Hans-Jörg Butt, who converted a penalty for Bayern in CL against Juventus. Bonus trivia: the score was 1-0 to Juventus before the penalty, which made it 1-1. Bayern went on to win 4-1.

  • I believe it was against Chelsea, when Neuer did a PK.
    – geoff
    Jul 6, 2014 at 20:10
  • If you indeed meant the match against Chelsea, perhaps you could correct that in your post. Here is Wikipedia article about 2012 UEFA Champions League Final.
    – Martin
    Dec 1, 2016 at 15:12

This happened late last year in the Women's NCAA College Cup game between Rutgers University and the University of Virginia. Casey Murphy of Rutgers who was their goalkeeper shot and scored during a penalty shootout. Read more here: http://www.dailytargum.com/article/2015/11/rutgers-defeats-no-1-virginia-in-penalty-shootout-advances-to-college-cup

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.