In 8-Ball, after a break where no balls were sunk, the next player takes their turn. They successfully sink a ball and the balls have stopped moving, but while moving away from the table for the next shot, strike a ball with their cue. Is this foul considered part of the first shot, and the table remains open? Or is it a foul for the next shot, and the table is no longer open?

1 Answer 1


Under World Pool-Billiard Association rules, a shot ends when the balls stop moving. Therefore, the foul would be on the next shot.

This type of foul is called a Touched Ball, and in 8-Ball, it results in the play passing to the opponent with the cue ball in hand.

Therefore, in this situation, I believe that the table would not be considered open anymore, and the player who made the break shot would get the cue ball in hand.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.