Let's imagine an ideal situation:
- A player scores a goal
- Before scoring, they deliberately handle the ball
- None of the referees notice the foul
- The referee validates the goal
- The scorer admits (before restarting game) to referee they committed a foul before scoring
My question is: what should the referee do in this case? Should they care about what the scorer said, change their mind and so changing their decision? Are there rules about this situation?
I'll make an example to explain better:
In the match Ac Milan - Juventus:
Massimiliano Allegri’s men were in the ascendancy, and should have been 2-0 up after 25 minutes, but for a controversial incident which saw a legitimate goal not given.
Buffon initially did well to parry a header by Philippe Mexes from a corner, but hooked out Sulley Muntari’s rebound with the ball clearly over the line, sparking Milan celebrations. However, referee Paolo Tagliavento did not signal, and play continued.
After the game, Buffon declared that he didn't notice the goal, but even if he had noticed it he wouldn't have admitted to the referee.
So my question: would have made any difference if Buffon had seen and had explained to the referee the situation? I mean, if someone tries to be honest/fair the referee wouldn't care at all?