Can a player rotate from the back line after the serve and become a blocker? Or is the designation of backline player at the time of the serve?

2 Answers 2


A back-row player (one of the three players in the back row at the time of the serve, including the server) is not allowed to block. If they do, it is a blocking fault and results in a point for the other team.

From the FIVB Official Volleyball Rules 2013-2016, Rule 14.6 (Blocking Faults):

14.6 Blocking Faults
14.6.2 A back-row player or a Libero completes a block or participates in a completed block.


No, he can't. It's a fault and the point is given to the other team.

Also, a back-row player can complete an attack in two ways:

  1. at any height from behind the front zone if at his/her take-off, the player's feet didn't touch or cros the attack line
  2. from the front zone if at the moment of the contact a part of the ball is lower than the top of the net.

FIVB Rules

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.