This question is a hypothetical based on the last play of Game 5 of the 2014 NLCS.
San Francisco batting in the bottom of the 9th, score tied 3-3, runners Arias at second and Belt at first, one out. Batter Ishikawa hits a home run out of the playing field. As Ishikawa trots around third, he is mobbed by his teammates from the dugout. In the actual event, he pushed them out of the way to touch home plate, and the game ended with a score of 6-3. But what if he had not?
I understand that a batter who hits a home run out of the playing field must touch all bases in order for the run to count, and if he fails to do so he can be called out on appeal at the missed base. I also understand that if he leaves the base path he is out. But in this case, the preceding runners Arias and Belt have already scored, so the game is apparently won anyway.
If Ishikawa had left the base path before touching home plate (but after Arias and Belt had scored), what would have happened? My guess is he would be called out and the game would be over with a score of 5-3, but I can't find this addressed in the official MLB rules. (Also, would Ishikawa be in the unusual position of being credited with a HR and 2 RBI but no R?)
A comment on Rule 7.08(a) discusses a related case: if the leading runner leaves the base path, he is out, and if he makes the third out, the trailing runner does not score and the game continues. But it doesn't address what happens if the leading runner scores and then the trailing runner leaves the base path.
As another variation, what if Arias scores, and then Belt and Ishikawa both leave the base path? If they are both out then that would make three out. Does Arias's run count and end the game at 4-3, or does it not, and we go to the top of the 10th still tied 3-3?