If you have the ball gathered on 1 foot, i know you can jump and land on both feet at the same time and that is a valid play.(Jump Stop)

What happens if you gather the ball on 1 foot, then jump off that foot, then land on it again. Is that a travel?


At least in the NBA, this is a travel, and is a fairly new rule. You cannot gather, jump off of one foot, and then land on that same foot. I'm sure if other leagues haven't adopted this rule it's only a matter of time.

| improve this answer | |
  • Right, but isnt that just strange? Like you can gather on 1 foot and jump then land on BOTH feet. But you are not allowed to land on ONLY that same foot (which would be less useful, and harder) ? – neoknux_009 Nov 13 '14 at 0:37

The problem is that they aren't landing on ONLY one foot. They are gathering the ball as they jump off of one foot, landing on that same foot to establish it as the pivot, and then placing their non pivot foot down, which they then jump off of to attack the rim. typically this would be allowed, as the play doesn't become a travel unless the pivot foot returns to the floor before the ball is released for a shot or a pass. The NBA has ruled that going forward it IS a travel to gather, hop off of one foot and then land on that same foot, as it allows the ball handler too much of an advantage in terms of changing direction with the ball.

This video probably explains it better than I ever could, and has some real time examples that illustrate what it looks like and why it isn't being allowed:


| improve this answer | |
  • 1
    Welcome to Sports SE, and thanks for your contributions thus far. If this was meant to be a response to this comment, please do so in a comment, not another answer. If this was meant to add on to your existing answer, please edit it. – user527 Nov 13 '14 at 18:27
  • err..in that video it is clearly a travel regardless of that "new rule" since what happens is, as you were saying, gathering off that 1 foot then jumping then landing on that same foot, however their OTHER foot then follows after. Which is 3 steps with the ball gathered, so a travel anyway. My question is what happens if they then DO NOT land that other foot, and just use that same foot to hop on twice? – neoknux_009 Nov 16 '14 at 9:51

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.