If I understand the rules correctly, whenever a player receives red card, he is suspended for the next match. The same is true for 3 yellow cards. See, for example, here.

I would like to know what happens in the situation illustrated in the following example.

During the match in U-21 Euro qualifying play-offs Slovak midfielder Ondrej Duda was sent-off, see here or here. As of this moment, this was his last match for national team, see for example his profile on soccerway.

He was recently called up for the next fixture of the Slovak team in the UEFA Euro 2016 qualifying against Macedonia. (Here is a source in Slovak language.)

These are two different competitions, but both of them are organized by UEFA. I wonder whether he should be suspended in the senior team 's game or whether the suspensions are counted separately for senior and junior events. (Or, more generally, for various competitions.)

Even if the suspensions are not considered separately, another factor here might be that the U-21 qualifying tournament is already completed.

TL;DR: If a player receives a suspension in U-21 competition, can he still play for senior's team? Is there a difference if the junior competition, where the player received suspension, is already completed?

1 Answer 1


Ondrej Duda received the red card in an U-21 Euro Champions qualification match, so the suspension is defined in the regulation of that competition, available here on UEFA's website.

Specifically article 22.01 states that:

As a rule, a player who is sent off the field of play is suspended for the next match in the competition. The Control and Disciplinary Body is entitled to augment this punishment. For serious offences the punishment can be extended to all UEFA competition categories

So the suspension does not apply at senior level (or in any other U-21 competition) and the player can play in the next game [unless The UEFA Disciplinary Body decided to ban the player from other competitions]

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.