I was called for a travel in just a pick up game a couple months ago. I was also reading on Wikipedia information about the travel rule about the situation and it seems that there are conflicting rules.
There are 3 scenarios I need to consider.
Staggered landing, with a pivot foot, after receiving the ball for the first time.
Can you lift your pivot foot (using your other foot to jump off obviously) to try to shoot the basketball OR pass the ball? I'm aware that you cannot lift your pivot foot before "releasing the ball to start a dribble".
I know that if you have gathered the ball into a staggered landing, AFTER dribbling, you can go for a shot/pass while lifting your pivot foot and your non pivot foot still on the ground. But the difference here is that you have not dribbled at all after first receiving the ball.
"True Jump Stop" where you have received the ball on 1 foot, then jumped and landed on 2 feet. In this case
I know that you cannot lift either foot, before "releasing the ball to start the dribble". HOWEVER If you were to go for a shot, I'm pretty sure you could jump off both feet in this case, and go for a jump shot. BUT are you able to lift just 1 foot, before the other, the other then goes into the air then go for a shot, OR lift just 1 foot while the other is still on the ground then go for a shot?
"True Jump Stop" where you have already dribbled, you gather the ball on 1 foot, then jump and land on both feet simultaneously.
Similar to the question in scenario 2. Are you able go for a shot by lifting 1 foot off the ground followed by the other? Or go for a shot by lifting 1 foot, and keep the other foot ON the ground?
The confusion all arises after I read this quote on Wikipedia for FIBA traveling rules:
First, there is no paragraph 4.a of Section 72. Therefore, it is a violation if the player, after coming to a stop and establishing the pivot foot, lifts it before the other foot without a dribble.