3

I understand there would be no advantage to do so but was just wondering if it's allowed. Also has it ever happened?

3
  • 2
    Just out of curiosity why was my question down voted?
    – Achaldo
    Nov 12 '14 at 14:41
  • 2
    Not personally opined, but this may shed some insight.
    – user527
    Nov 13 '14 at 14:24
  • 3
    I would suspect it's because this happens all the time, so it's an odd question to ask the way you did. Almost any NBA game will involve at least one free throw shot going in off the backboard. Are you perhaps meaning something else, like going off the edge of the board or something like that?
    – Joe
    Nov 13 '14 at 15:08
4

Can you make a free throw off the backboard? I understand there would be no advantage to do so but was just wondering if it's allowed.

Yes.

Also has it ever happened?

Yes.


Rule 5 - Section I - a of the NBA rule book states:

A legal field goal or free throw attempt shall be scored when a ball from the playing area enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through the net

Rule 4 - Section I - c states:

Five sides of the backboard (front, two sides, bottom and top) are considered in play when contacted by the basketball. The back of the backboard and the area directly behind it are out-of-bounds.

3

Yes it's allowed, and yes it happens. Here's an example.

1

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.