3

In the game of cricket, if one bowler gets two wickets with the last two balls of one over, then in their next over bowl a maiden, and then in their third over take a wicket with the very first ball, does this count as a hat-trick?

9

No, a hat trick is a wicket with each of three consecutive balls by the bowler1. They can be split across overs, or even across innings in a two innings match, but it has to be three consecutive balls.

For avoidance of doubt, there is no definition within the Laws of Cricket (or even any playing conditions in common use that I'm aware of) for exactly what a "hat trick" consists of (see various other questions on this site for examples) - but I don't think you'd find much support anywhere for trying to claim a hat trick of this form.

[1] From Wikipedia: "A hat-trick occurs in cricket when a bowler dismisses three batsmen with consecutive deliveries."

  • Hatricks can even be spread across matches I think. (Merv Hughes had one such, if I'm not wrong) – Yaitzme Nov 14 '14 at 14:38
  • @Yaitzme: [citation needed] for that assertion. I'd put a small amount of money on the fact that the Merv Hughes incident you're thinking of is that mentioned in this question where he took a hat-trick across three overs. – Philip Kendall Nov 14 '14 at 14:40
  • @PhilipKendall - You are right on the Merv Hughes incident. :) Also, the term 'hattrick' is just a media-introduced term and not an official term persay. So, there are going to be differences in the way people interpret a hattrick. – Yaitzme Nov 14 '14 at 14:44
  • From what I've read so far, people DO NOT consider (for some strange reason) wickets spread over matches as hattricks. So I take back my assertion, although I believe, it makes no sense to impose rules with little logic on hattricks. – Yaitzme Nov 14 '14 at 14:45

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.