It was the last game of a volleyball tournament when a serve hit the baseline of the opponent's court - as to me it seemed. From the referee's perch, she instantly called it out. But then the line judge shook his head, and called it in. A small argument broke out and a re-serve was called.

What should have actually happened in this situation?

1 Answer 1


All calls in volleyball eventually come from the head referee. However, he or she can ask their assistants for assistance if they didn't have a good view of the play. If the referee cannot make a decision based on their own view and those of the assistants, calling a replay is perfectly fine.

It's similar to basketball. When the officials cannot decide the correct outcome of a play, they sometimes call a "jump ball" to determine the outcome.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.