5

To throw a perfect game a pitcher would have to get 27 batters out in a row.

How many times in MLB history has a pitcher had 26 strait outs only to allow the would be final batter to reach base?

  • 1
    technically you wouldn't have to get 27 batters out in a row; a batter could reach base on an error (other than the pitcher's) and the pitcher could still get a perfect game – Thomas Shields May 8 '12 at 15:03
  • 3
    @ThomasShields Thanks for your comment. It is good to hear from you once again. I believe this may be true in regards to a pitcher throwing a no-hitter. However, it is my understanding that in order to throw an official perfect game the pitcher would have to pitch from inning 1 through at least inning 9 (facing a minimum of 27 batters) without allowing a batter to reach base. Baseball has always provided many unique situations, without doubt I may be missing or misunderstanding something. :–) – E1Suave May 8 '12 at 15:26
  • 1
    Ah, you may be right :) I'll have to check the official rules after I get out of calc class – Thomas Shields May 8 '12 at 15:59
  • 3
    The final batter wouldn't reach the base. If he reached the base, he would be followed by someone else, so he wouldn't be the final batter. – corsiKa May 8 '12 at 16:57
  • 3
    @corsiKa As long as the runner reaches first base safely, it would no longer constitute a perfect game (would still be a no-hitter in an error occured) regardless of whether he gets tagged out in between first and second. – user527 Sep 20 '12 at 14:40
9

According to Wikipedia, this has happened 13 times. The earliest on July 4, 1908 and the most recent on June 20, 2015.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.