Can someone help with the knock on rule when scoring a try. In the Ireland v England 6 Nations game, the slow motion reply appeared to show Henshaw first catching the ball, then he appeared to lose control of it temporarily so that he was no longer touching the ball, and the ball was moving forwards. He then put his hand on the ball before it touched the ground, and clearly touched it down.
My question is (in this game or any other game with the same circumstances), if this was the case, was this a knock on, because he did not catch the ball before it hit the ground as the rules suggest? Or does the law allow the touching down in the goal area to be the equivalent of catching the ball in the remainder of the pitch ? Any ideas appreciated.
By the way - as an England supporter I admit they were well beaten, so no complaints about the result !